top of page
Search
  • mbiddings

To Anyone Who Finds This

To anyone who finds this--


Congratulations to me! I'm no longer the only human on Earth. I don't know who you are or where you've been hiding this whole time, so let me catch you up to speed on a few things.


Roughly 2 years ago, aliens invaded Earth. They took all humans and animals with them. I imagine that they have a large planet where they're all living in harmony together. I try not to imagine the worst.


In fact, I know that some Earth-things are still living up there. Each month before the new moon appears, what looks like a single shooting star falls to earth. Inside is their gift to me. Payment for tending to the earth.


They usually send a wild animal that I will hunt and eat for dinner. They once sent a rabbit and I kept it as a pet for a whole moon cycle. The next gift was a tiger and it ate my rabbit and took a chunk out of my own arm. I caught him and cooked that sucker up.


Listen, there’s a reason why we never ate tiger in the pre-alien days.


I digress.


Once they sent me a locket. When I opened it and saw the photo, I had to blink back tears. (Maybe I even cried. There are no witnesses.)


The photo was of a couple. They both looked so happy.


I felt more alone than ever.


Ever since the locket, I’ve been hoping and praying (to God, to the aliens) for a woman who will love me and take care of me.


Update!


THEY SENT ME A WOMAN!


I haven’t seen her yet, but there have been signs everywhere. When I came back from hunting the star-gift, my camp had been completely cleaned and reorganized. Curtains were hung (I don’t have windows). There was some onion grass stew on the fire. Simple yet delicious. This camp feels like a home now.


...Update


I didn’t find her, she found me.


“Just look at the dirt on your neck!” she said. I turned around.


My mother.


They sent me my own mother.




21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

When You Were Born

When you were born… (I don’t know the weather) It might have been dry, it might have been wetter It might have been cloudy, it might have been gray But no matter what, it grew brighter that day! Happy

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page