top of page
Search
  • mbiddings

The Rescued

He’s sleepin' now. I gave him a double dose of seasickness medicine. Not enough to do harm, but I needed him to stop thrashin' about. I wasn’t worried for myself, but I had half a notion that the fella might end up right back in the water.


When I spotted him he was raisin’ hell in the water. I’m surprised he had any energy left the way he was kickin’ and shoutin’. Any normal man would have drowned.


I pulled him into my boat. Seaweed was wrapped around his ankles, and his wet white hair covered his face. What a peculiar color for a man who can’t be over 20.


I look at him as he sleeps. Maybe his hair is a light yellow color. I don’t know much about these things.


His eyes shoot open, like he can feel me watchin’.


“WHERE IS MY FATHER?”


I back up, in case he starts actin’ up again. “Well son, you were alone when I found you…”


“WE NEED TO FIND MY FATHER.”


I stare, wondering if he is dehydrated and not in his right mind.


He quickly grabs my fishing harpoon from the ground. “Turn it around!”


He stands behind me at the helm, pressing the spear to my neck. It takes 45 minutes to reach the area where I rescued him.


He drops the harpoon and bends over the bow. “FATHER!” he shouts as he peers into the water.


“He’s not there,” I say. He doesn’t hear me. I make my way to his side. “Young fella?”


His eyes light up. “Father!”


“Well no, I pulled you outta the water. Remember?”


“Father! Join me!” And just like that I’m pushed into the water.


He swiftly pushes my head under water. I gasp, swallowing what feels like gallons of water. I struggle, but he keeps my head down.


I’m finally released. I float to the surface and he helps me into the boat.


How long was I in the water? I look back into the ocean.


I catch a glimpse of my reflection, my hair snowy white.



29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

When You Were Born

When you were born… (I don’t know the weather) It might have been dry, it might have been wetter It might have been cloudy, it might have been gray But no matter what, it grew brighter that day! Happy

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page