top of page
Search
  • mbiddings

The Cabin in Vermont

I awoke with a start as I heard a door close.


What was supposed to have been a light nap on the couch turned into a very deep sleep. I wiped the drool from the corner of my mouth, looking around in confusion.

Right, we’re in a cabin in Vermont. Was it night? How long had I been sleeping?


Suddenly, I remembered hearing the door close. Had my husband gone outside?


I made my way to the door, opening it wide. A blast of cold air took my breath away.


A figure was in the distance, walking away. It was hard to see clearly, but it had to be Richard.


“Rich?” I shouted. The figure paused, then continued walking.


I stepped back into the cabin. Could this day get any stranger?


“What?” A voice spoke from behind me.


I gasped and whirled around.

“Rich? What are you doing here?” I asked, dumbfounded.

He cocked his head. “You called for me, didn’t you? Woke me clean out of a dead sleep.”

“That wasn’t you outside?” I asked. “I could have sworn I heard the cabin door close!”

I peered outside. “Look, Rich! That’s who I saw!”

“He might have been walking away earlier, but now he’s coming towards us.” Richard sounded alarmed. “He’s speeding up!”


We closed the door and reached for the deadbolt.

It had been completely removed.

The doorknob turned slowly. We could hear heavy breathing on the other side of the door.

Richard held me tight and we waited.





18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

When You Were Born

When you were born… (I don’t know the weather) It might have been dry, it might have been wetter It might have been cloudy, it might have been gray But no matter what, it grew brighter that day! Happy

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page