top of page
Search
  • mbiddings

Make Things Happen Day

Tomorrow: Ask for a promotion. I typed a reminder on my calendar. “MAKE THINGS HAPPEN”.

The next morning I arrived at work ready to impress.

“Make things happen!” shouted Todd as he rollerbladed past me. He gestured at the community bulletin board.

On the board was a note with the message “MAKE THINGS HAPPEN”.

I asked Diane about it, over at the water cooler.

“It’s Make Things Happen Day, Honey! Don’t you ever check your calendar?”

I had a sinking feeling. “Did Mr. Jacobson approve this Day?”

“Boss didn’t even come in today! He must be ‘Making Things Happen’ with Mrs. J.” She winked. “This is my contribution!” She handed me a cup of water.


I sniffed it. Alcohol.

I raced to my desk. “MAKE THINGS HAPPEN” was posted to the public calendar instead of my private one. I created a chaotic work holiday that might get me fired!

At least Barb was working. She had a lapful of puppies but seemed to be productive.

Brandon was under his desk.

“Is that ketchup on your tie?” I asked. “Were you down here eating a burger at 9am?”

I climbed under his desk.

“This holiday is my fault,” I confessed. “I just wanted a promotion!”

Brandon giggled. “You’re promoted!”

“No, seriously. Jacobson is going to kill me!”

“You can have his job!” Brandon tried to high-five me.

His hand was red. Not ketchup, but blood.


“What did you do?” I backed out from under the desk.


He grinned. “I made things happen!”



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

When You Were Born

When you were born… (I don’t know the weather) It might have been dry, it might have been wetter It might have been cloudy, it might have been gray But no matter what, it grew brighter that day! Happy

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page