top of page
Search
  • mbiddings

An Invitation

Finally, I’d arrived! From the outside, the Windmill looked just like any other. What made it special? Rumor was that you’d find the object of your desire inside of the windmill.


The door was heavy, and I was forced to slowly push it open with all of my strength. I blinked several times as my eyes adjusted to the darkness.


The room was empty. There was nothing but dust, spider webs, and a staircase leading to the second floor. To my dismay, the second floor was empty as well.


I pressed on, climbing the final flight of stairs.


I was met with light and warmth.


“Come in! Let me make you some cocoa,” an elderly woman said.


“It’s summer,” I told her. “I’ll pass.”


“Very well,” she said. “I’ve been waiting for you. I need someone to help me make my animals. My eyes aren’t what they used to be.”


“How can I possibly help with that?”


“Do you crochet?” She asked as she held up some small handmade animals.


“I didn’t come here for this,” I told her.


“What did you come here for?” she asked.


“I don’t know!”


She smiled. “Then how do you know it isn’t this? Take this opportunity to slow down and rest. Help me craft and enjoy the simpler things in life.”


“Rest sounds nice,” I told her. “But I’d rather do that with no added responsibilities.”


“Is that what you desire?” she asked.


I nodded emphatically.


Suddenly, my chair grew larger, or maybe I grew smaller! Instead of a shout, a small “meow” came out of my mouth.


…It couldn’t be. I looked down at my small body, covered with fur. In my agitation, my tail flicked from the right to the left.


“You wanted to rest with no responsibilities,” the woman told me. “Enjoy your cat nap!” She laughed.


I woke up from my dream, sweating and feeling panicked.


It was just a dream, I told myself. As I snuggled back into bed, I couldn’t fight the urge to kneed my paws into the blankets.


…My paws?



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

When You Were Born

When you were born… (I don’t know the weather) It might have been dry, it might have been wetter It might have been cloudy, it might have been gray But no matter what, it grew brighter that day! Happy

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page